Finally, some furniture…

Even if it is outside our house 🙂 We finally bought some patio furniture last night and made 4 trips to the store to get it 🙂 Here’s a pic from a proud blogger.

Anyway, in celebration of having finally bought our patio furniture, I decided to make some fun food. No, that’s not true. I was planning to try a recipe from my favorite magazine in the whole wide world, Good Housekeeping, and just made the patio furniture an excuse 🙂

Anyway, Good Housekeeping has been my favorite magazine for many many years. I grew up reading the British version from the British Council library, where my Dad was a member and where I became a member when I turned 18. I remember it would always be a rush to get the best magazines before anybody else every Saturday. I loved the “A Look for a Lifestyle” feature and I loved reading the recipes, never mind that I had absolutely no intention of actually trying them.

When I moved to the US, it was no surprise to anyone in my family, when I immediately started subscribing to the US version. And when I started cooking, Good Housekeeping was one of my first sources for tried and tested (triple tested!!), interesting recipes from the GHI kitchen.

Getting back to the topic at hand, this weekend I tried their Spanish Tortilla with Chorizo and Peppers recipe from the May issue. Of course, as usual I made a few modifications based on what was available to me at home.

Unlike the name, this dish actually does not involve any tortillas in the way that we usually think of them. Instead, a tortilla is a traditional Spanish dish and is a thick omelet of potato, onions, and egg.

Here’s my version of the recipe.

Spanish Tortilla with Chorizo and Peppers

(Makes 8 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bag of small red potatoes (I always have these on hand due to my husband’s love for oven-roasted potatoes)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed and roughly chopped
  • 8 large eggs
  • 4 links of fully cooked chorizo sausage (I used D’Artagnan brand), casings taken off and diced into 1/4 inch pieces
  • 1/4 cups of parsley leaves, roughly chopped (I used some from my own plant..Yippee! It’s actually thriving quite well! Thanks Bee for inspiring me to start with a few herbs..My tomato plant is getting some flowers and my rosemary is doing pretty well too!!)
  • Black Pepper

Steps:

  1. In a saucepan, boil the potatoes with enough water to cover and salt to taste, until fork tender.
  2. Drain the potatoes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

4. Heat 1/2 tbsp of olive oil in an oven safe non-stick skillet or any other non-stick skillet that you can make oven safe by wrapping the handle with a double coating of foil.

5. Add the onions and peppers and saute until the onions are golden and the peppers are soft.

6. Lightly beat the eggs in a large bowl. Mix in the chorizo, parsley, salt and black pepper.

7. Gently mix in the potatoes and the sauteed onions and peppers into the egg mixture.

8. Add 1/2 tbsp of olive oil in the skillet and return the egg mixture to the pan.

9. After cooking it on medium for about 30 seconds, place the pan in the oven for about 30 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

10. After removing this from the oven, invert the skillet over a circular baking dish or a plate.

11. Cut into wedges and serve.

True to my experience with Good Housekeeping, this was an awesome dish. It made for a very filling lunch when served with the Corn Chowder I made from scratch.

  

 

4 responses to “Finally, some furniture…

  1. Hi Sonal, first time here… You have a lovely space… Congrats on the new furniture… isn’t it fun to buy stuff? 🙂
    I love chorizo and eggs combo, never tried it in a Spanish tortilla though… Thanks for the recipe…

  2. i love the furniture! and gonna try this without the chorizo – sounds delicious!

  3. congrats on the new furniture! They look so beautiful! chorizo looks so delicious, though still thinking about so many (8) eggs!

  4. Sig,
    Thanks…I have been a regular visitor to your blog for a while now, just never commented 😦

    Arundathi,
    Thanks! It was really delicious…let me know how it turns out without the chorizo.

    Uma,
    Thanks! Don’t worry,..the 8 eggs are for 8 servings..so, its only about 1 egg per meal. 🙂 That makes it sound better, right?

Leave a Reply

