Busy some more..

So my busy-ness is continuing and I have been going crazy trying to keep everything straight. I finally have a few seconds to myself and hence am posting as I was really getting desperate to write for a while now.

To move towards the recipe… I have always been a big fan of Madhur Jaffrey. She was immensely famous in my house, for who knows what reason. In fact, when I moved to Georgia as a student, her books were the first few cookbooks I actually read and photocopied. Since then, my cooking has evolved and although I still have a lot of respect for Madhur Jaffrey’s recipes, I do find that some of them tend to take a little too much time for my taste. However, there are many others which are very light, easy and remind me of my Mom’s UP-style cooking growing up.

One of these is the Green peas with coconut and cilantro recipe. After I made it, I realized that it was actually very similar to one my mother makes (just without the coconut).

And the best part about this recipe..if you skip the cilantro, there isn’t a single bit of chopping to do (especially no onions, which make me cry and cry for hours). I wish there were more recipes where chopping wasn’t needed, even if hubby dearest does do the chopping in the house 🙂

I got this recipe off the internet using the first search result that came from “madhur jaffrey recipe” and adapted it a bit.

Green Peas with Coconut and Cilantro

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • a pinch of asafetida (hing)
  • 1 1/4 tsp mustard seeds (rai)
  • 3/4 tsp cumin seeds (jeera)
  • 15 curry leaves (curry patta)
  • 3 cups frozen peas (about 1.5 of the medium bags)
  • 3 small chillies from the Indian store (diced fine)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • 3/4 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 cup frozen grated (or shredded) coconut (Its great if you have fresh, but this is fine too)
  • 4 tbsp cilantro (chopped)

Steps:

  1. Heat the oil and when it is hot, add the asafetida.
  2. When that sizzles, add the mustard seeds, cumin seeds and curry leaves.
  3. After a few seconds, add the peas, chillies, salt, sugar, turmeric and coriander powder.
  4. Let this cook for a couple of minutes.
  5. Add a 1/4 cup of water (I added too much and had to turn the heat up to high to evaporate it all) and let it come to a boil. Wait for the water to evaporate.

   6. Finally, add the coconut and the cilantro and mix it all together.

This dish was very pretty when done. It reminded me of how the combination of emeralds and diamonds or emeralds and pearls is my favorite combination in jewelry (hubby dearest, are you listening? :-))

  

 

7 responses to “Busy some more..

  1. That is a recipe which is too easy to make..

  2. nice recipe and pics too

  3. Thanks Divya and Priyanka 🙂

  4. lovely photos! i make a variation of this quite often – I love them!

  5. Sonal,
    I love peas! Yummy recipe dear and Cool pic too. Look at you! a true blossoming foodie blogger :o)

  6. That looks lovely, Sonal!

  7. Thanks, Anuzi and Vani.

    Vani, are you from Mysore? My husband is from there too..:-)

Leave a Reply

