Busy busy busy

I don’t think I have ever been so busy in my entire life. Right now, all I am sustaining myself on is Thai Village and Salt Creek Grille on the office account.. not much home cooked food for me.

Anyway, I worked from home this Monday to recover from the blisters. I don’t know why but whenever I work from home all day, I get inspired to bake. Also, I broke an egg while making myself breakfast earlier and wanted to use the two forlorn looking remainin eggs that had been hanging around for a few weeks. Hence, this Monday it was a simple chocolate cake to take care of my multiple needs.

Here’s my cheer up recipe..which was actually just an adaptation of the first search result that came up on Google for “easy chocolate cake recipe“.

EASY CHOCOLATE CAKE

Ingredients:

  • 1cup whole wheat flour + 1/4 cup all purpose flour (thought I’d make it a little healthier :-))
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Ghirardelli)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1 cup sugar (I used 3/4 cup baking Splenda and 1/4 cup organic raw cane sugar)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil (any flavorless oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup walnuts

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Grease a 9 inch round cake tin.

3. Mix the flours, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and sugar.

4. Add the milk, oil and eggs slowly while beating at a slow speed with a hand mixer. You could also mix everything with a spatula.

5. Finally add the walnuts and mix them in lightly.

6. Pour the batter into the greased baking tin (top with more walnuts to make it look pretty) and bake until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes clean (about 35-45 minutes, depending on your oven).

7. The cake is ready to be sliced and served.

(By the way, I sliced the cake as I wanted to eat it before it cooled completely , and then remembered to photograph it. Also, it sadly cracked on top 😦 )

10 responses to “Busy busy busy

  1. Thats a good way to use WFH! 😉 I should do that on my next. 😛

  2. Yes, its a fun way to cheer yourself up, if nothing else 🙂

  3. thats looks sinfull.. amazing…

  4. Though its cracked the cake looks lovely. And you are true, baking is really a stressbuster.

  5. mmmm chocolate cake with walnuts…nothing better.

  6. Swati,
    its actually not at all sinful since its whole wheat flour and very little sugar. Not as bad for you and you get the chocolate experience 🙂

    Arundathi,
    Chocolate cake that’s actually not as bad for you…my favorite kind of food. 🙂

  7. Nice twist with the whole wheat flour and raw sugar. Conscientous cake… hurrah!

  8. Oh who cares if it is cracked…it still looks amazing! Great job with the baking :o)

  9. Mallika, always like to keep things a little healthy, even if it is a chocolate cake 🙂

    Anuzi,
    Thanks!

  10. Nirmala,…thanks for the comment. Sorry for the delayed response. Your comment somehow made its way into the spam folder. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

