Easy Decadence with Masala Chawal

Life has been kind of busy recently….and of course crazy hours at work don’t help. Weekends would usually be the only thing keeping me sane..now, if only I didn’t have to work on the last few weekends :-( Ok, enough cribbing!

Thankfully, today I actually managed to get home by 7.30 pm and I even managed to cook on a weekday…very, very unusual for me. :-)

Guess what the motivation was! Open Sesame 2 (started by Siri and Dhivya)!! :-) I guess I am becoming a true blue blogger now..if I am tailoring meals around blog events, right? :-)

My ingredient was cloves and I thought and thought about what I should make with cloves all weekend. Unfortunately, nothing really appealed and I decided to rely on an old favorite that I always make whenever I am bored of basic rice and can’t stand hubby dearest’s microwave rice :-) (which I think taste awful on Day 2)

So, here’s my recipe for easy decadence with Masala Chawal…my entry for Open Sesame 2.

MASALA CHAWAL

Ingredients:

  •  2 cups basmati rice, washed in several changes of water and soaked in enough water to cover it for 30 minutes. If you don’t have 30 minutes to spare, soak the rice in warm-hot water for 10 minutes.
  • 1 tsp ghee
  • 6 cloves
  • 3 black cardamoms (skip if you don’t have them)
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 10 peppercorns
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 1/4 cup milk (optional)
  • A few strands saffron (optional)

 Steps:

1. Heat the ghee in a saucepan on medium-high heat.

2. Add the spices and wait for the cumin seeds to pop (5-10 seconds, depending on how hot the ghee is).

3. Add the onions and stir fry until they turn translucent and begin to change color.

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Add the drained rice and stir very lightly until the rice looks very, very white.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Add 2 2/3 cups of water. Let it come to a boil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Reduce the heat to medium and cook until the water dries out and the rice tastes cooked. If the water dries out while the rice grains are still hard, add a little more water. If there appears to be too much water and the rice tastes cooked, increase the heat to high and let the excess water evaporate.

7. Meanwhile, dissolve the saffron in the milk that has been heated in the microwave for 30 seconds. Add this to the rice when they are almost cooked. I put mine in a pretty S (standing for my name and because an S looks like 2 C’s for clove..ok, I made that one up.. I admit I am self-obsessed :-) )..and actually hubby dearest put it in an S for me :-) Thanks, hubby dearest!

8. Once the rice is cooked, turn off the stove and cover.

9. Let the rice rest covered for 10 minutes before serving (This is a trick my Mom taught me to ensure that your rice stands up on its head and looks pretty:-) )

8 responses to “Easy Decadence with Masala Chawal

  1. How cud I be hungry now? I just had my dinner.. all thanks to ur yummy Masala Rice Sonal. Thanks for sending it ontime, though u were packed with work!..

    Cheers,
    Siri

    Thanks, Siri..I often get hungry after looking at all the food blogger pics too..probably a reason why I am gaining weight after becoming a blogger :-)

  2. This is amazing – and with work et all – u actually came up with a complete hunger creating rice.Love it! Thanks for sharing it with all of us :)

    Thanks, Dhivya..No problem..food blogging is obviously becoming more than a passing interest for me :-)

  3. yummy rice!

    Thanks!

  4. this is perfect dinner. want to have it now :). delicious.

    Thanks, Bhawana..come over anytime and you can have it :-)

  5. Rice looks great, yumm yummm!!!

    http://vegetarianmedley.blogspot.com/

    Thanks, Madhavi..Looks like you have rice on your blog too! Rice is the flavor of the season! :-)

  6. Perfectly cooked rice, love the ‘S’. S for saffron too:)

    Thanks, Rashmi…I definitely did not think of the S for saffron, but you are completely correct!! :-)

  7. i loved this rice when i first saw the pic in dinig hall… n i love love love it when ppl put long slices of onlin n lotsa onion in their rice…

    Thanks, Swati! Welcome to my blog and thank you for your kind comments! Long slices of onion do make everything much prettier :-)
    Now, all you have to do is vote for me on Dining Hall :-)
    Hope to see you on my blog again!

  8. Sonal,
    Hey girl!! long time no talk. Glad to see you have been busy cooking away. Well I am back and hope to be blogging more. Love the rice!! yum.

Leave a Reply

